M1 Learning Log 2 – “Googleable”

June 13, 2011 at 10:01 pm 3 comments

Up until reading these digital dossier articles, I haven’t seen or heard about being “Googleable” as a good or positive feature.  I’m a little lost on what to think about that.  It’s the fear of something (even if we see it as harmless) being taken in a negative light.  On facebook, I post minimal photos and rarely make any type of status update; I don’t want people knowing when and where I am every second of the day, and I don’t believe it’s necessary for the world to know and relate to my every feeling.  In my past business environment, there was no need for my employer to know about my personal life outside of my job description.  Changing careers to education, we’re continually told to be aware of what we put online, as parents have searched and ended student teacher careers before they even started. 

In the footprint article, the author mentioned how the little girl’s work won’t end up in a trash bin, but what is the difference of her blog no longer having any hits in ten years and simply sitting in wasted cyber space that no one ever sees again? I guess I’m still hesitant on how much to use the internet and the purpose.  I’ve usually had the attitude of not caring what others think, having an opinion doesn’t mean they’re an expert; but when he mentioned the hobbies it made me think about how much my husband enjoys hearing the stories of travelers sailing from the Florida Keys to the Caribbean, and asking for others’ opinions on various boating tips etc, so I guess there is a time, place, and purpose for everything….it’s just learning how and becoming comfortable using it.

I’ve never created a blog, nor have I ever really read or followed any blog so it will be interesting to see how this all goes…

Entry filed under: Module 1.

M1 Learning Log 1 – Time for class M1 Learning Log 3 – My Goodness Mrs. Cassidy!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slm508krw  |  June 14, 2011 at 8:28 am

    Nice to hear your husband supporting you. Mine is as well. I’ve been an engineer in the public sector for 13 years now and now with two small children I can’t keep up (and taking classes isn’t helping). The bigger urge was wanting to do more for society. Ironically when I was entering college I intended on teaching high school math but an uncle talked me into engineering. I wouldn’t give up the career path that I’ve taken but I agree that this feels right. I hope your journey leads you to happiness. – Kim

    Reply
  • 2. atk002  |  June 14, 2011 at 10:09 pm

    I agree being a “googleable” is a very scary idea. That someone can type in your name and find out all sorts of information on your past. Especially if you do know whats all ready out there on google about you. I have a very unique last name so if you google my name you will see old cross country races and times of mine. It is weird but I am glad that I do not have anything bad about me on the internet. But I 100 percent agree with you, that you have to be very careful about what you put out there.

    Reply
    • 3. Sarah Wilhelm  |  June 14, 2011 at 11:09 pm

      Exactly, I don’t want anything negative about me on the web, and if its positive…I’ll give you the link during my interview and then you can give me the job.
      We all have different opinions, standards, and beliefs so its hard to keep it all in balance……

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Sarah’s Shelfari

Sarah’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Sarah Wilhelm's SLM508 Blog by Sarah Wilhelm is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

