M1 Learning Log 1 – Time for class

June 13, 2011 at 9:53 pm Leave a comment

So its almost the end of Module 1 and I’m just getting all of my Discussion threads posted…my motivation for summer classes has taken a while to get into gear.  Seeing the note that responses were suppose to all be posted LAST week has finally got me on the right track.

A little more about me to add to the initial cafe posts….

I grew up in the little big town of Shrewsbury, PA. and I love it there.  I’m a country girl and don’t think I’d survive in a big city.  I’m the youngest of 3, and was a tom-boy growing up tagging along/fighting with my brother, but always trying to be just like my big sister.  I played a variety of sports: soccer, basketball, volleyball, field hockey, a quick trial of track and field, and I was on the crew team my freshman year of College.  I went to Washington College on the eastern shore of MD (Chestertown) and majored in Business becuase I didn’t really know what I wanted to do… I graduated and took a job with Bank of America.  I was miserable. 6 months later I started a new job with a print management company in an administrative role and quickly learned more graphic design software and scripting language to grow into the department lead.  But it never really felt right, so after four years with the support of my family and wonderful husband (4 years this past Memorial Wkend :), I returned to school to pursue a career thats always been in the back of my head, teaching elementary school.  My first class was Children’s Litature last summer, and it was a huge relief (and a lot of work!)  It felt right.  This is where I’m suppose to be and what I’m suppose to do.  I never had this feeling during my undergrad courses.  Needless to say, I’m ready to student teach full time Fall 2012 and get a job!  Fingers crossed right?

I currently live in Hanover, PA with my husband, John, and spoiled rotten kitty, Harley.  We love being outdoors, and I can’t wait to move one day to a single family house with a yard so I can have a big summer garden.  We love the beach and anything water related.  For our honeymoon we charted a sailboat to sail around the Virgin Islands, which sparked us buying our own sailboat to explore the Chesapeake Bay.  It was like having a mini vacation every weekend.  Now we have a small power boat with less maintence that my husband can take out by himself when I’m busy with school work.

Entry filed under: Module 1.

M1 Learning Log 2 – “Googleable”

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Sarah’s Shelfari

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other subscribers

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Sarah Wilhelm's SLM508 Blog by Sarah Wilhelm is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.