M1 Learning Log 3 – My Goodness Mrs. Cassidy!

June 14, 2011 at 1:09 pm 1 comment

I think I’m going through the blogging section a little out of order, but as I’ve been seeing various posts its mainly been teachers or older students.  Then I just clicked on the teacher blog link in our first module and was amazed!   These are first graders with their own blogs, showing their own art work, typing skills, and even videos!  Mrs. Cassidy has her own site, which then lists all her students’ blog links on the side bar.  I interned in kindergarten this past fall and was amased at the growth from September to December, they couldn’t or could barely write when they started…and then as my going away gift I was given a student made book with all their own drawings and writings. I think their blogs are a great way to show their ‘portfolio’ of work  and how they have progressed throughout the year.  

 BUT HOW DOES SHE GET 1ST GRADERS TO DO THIS?  Where is the time and resources coming from?  She even has a separate class website with tons of extra class resources (shelfari, etc.).

I’ve seen a few blogs now that also have the visitors map on the side….Maybe because I’m visual learner, but this just makes me go “Wow, that’s so cool!”  What a crazy idea to think of such a large audience viewing a first grade class’s blog.

Entry filed under: Module 1.

M1 Learning Log 2 – “Googleable” Educator Blogs

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. slm508jnb  |  June 14, 2011 at 2:30 pm

    Wow! I looked at Mrs. Cassidy’s class blog, but I didn’t realize her students had blogs too! That is amazing! I’m afraid to get my 7th graders in front of a computer for too long, but she’s got these little guys computer savvy already!? Amazing!

    And that’s a good point–who would think people all over the world are checking out these class blogs. But they are! That’s the beauty of blogging. It can be such a powerful tool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Sarah’s Shelfari

Sarah’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Sarah Wilhelm's SLM508 Blog by Sarah Wilhelm is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

