M2 Learning Log 4 – Screencast: Shooting Take #32

June 28, 2011 at 12:29 pm 1 comment

Holy Moly!  Making a screencast is harder than I thought.  Not in the respect of hit record….hit stop, but WHEN to hit those buttons, where to move my mouse so I don’t see it squiggle all over screen, and how to control my voice.  I kept having to restart my screencast for various mistakes, each time angry that I hadn’t tried hitting pause earlier so I wouldn’t have to start from the very beginning.  I also started without writing down my script, figured I know what I wanted to say and could just wing it.  Not so much.  That only lasted two takes.   And for the mouse, I wanted to keep it over the pause button so I was ready because ALT-P just doesn’t work for my unskilled typing fingers, but then I needed my mouse to click through my various tab examples and show where I was instructing users to go to.  It didn’t take forever to make, but it definitely took a lot longer than I was expecting.

Entry filed under: Module 2.

M2 Learning Log 3 – Flicker Slideshow Digital Storytelling – Who are YOU?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. TDixon  |  June 28, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    I had similar frustrations as well, my screencast froze on me three times and I had to restart my entire screencast each time. Also, I wish screen-cast-o-matic had better editing tools. My screencast also took much longer to finish than I had initially expected, but I think after using it more I can streamline the whole process. Glad to see you were able to finally finish your screencast, it was really good.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Sarah’s Shelfari

Sarah’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Sarah Wilhelm's SLM508 Blog by Sarah Wilhelm is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

