M3 Learning Log 1 – iGoogle

July 8, 2011 at 11:55 am Leave a comment

For my iGoogle page, I kept the Home tab for personal pages and links, and created an Education tab to link my various PD websites and resources.  I have added Twitter, Google Reader & Docs, To Do List, Diigo, my blog, Flickr, and various education news links.  I also made a recipe tab just for fun 🙂

I haven’t used this feature of Google before, and I can see myself really getting use of this.  We’ve been discovering so many new tools in this course, even ones that help us organize (Reader, Diigo) but they are still separate sites that we have to go to to see what is going on.   iGoogle takes all those great sites and rolls them into one.  I can see the most recent Twitter posts and click for more information, while at the same time see if anyone has made a blog post that I want to check out, or a news article that catches my eye.

As a teacher, if my class has a blog and twitter account, this is an easy way to stay updated on what the students are saying without having to go to each page separately; it takes some of the work and time out of it.  With the chat feature it provides another way to communicate with other teachers or students who have questions on homework when they get home.  Being able to share and collaborate through some of the gadgets, could open another window for resources, video sharing, book talks, etc.  I think my favorite part is the simplicity of having everything all in one spot….we should have done this in module 1!

Entry filed under: Module 3.

Digital Storytelling – Who are YOU? M3 Learning Log 2 – Google Doc: Favorite Social Tool

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Sarah’s Shelfari

Sarah’s Tweets

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Sarah Wilhelm's SLM508 Blog by Sarah Wilhelm is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

