M3 Learning Log 2 – Google Doc: Favorite Social Tool

July 8, 2011 at 12:55 pm 2 comments

To my surprise, my favorite social networking tool so far is Twitter.  I haven’t made many posts myself, but I’ve really enjoyed searching and seeing what everyone else has to say and share; at least for the means of professional development or education related.  I’ve been so against Twitter since people first started talking about this tweeting tool to share their pointless status updates;  I never gave it a chance to be anything other than digital noise.
I like being able to create various lists to sort the topics I want to follow.  I’m not a news person, I should be, but I can never make myself watch the news or read a newspaper (paper or digital); I’ve always seen it as depressing, negative information.  This goes for following politics as well.  Going into education, I know these are things I should be more informed about, and Twitter helps me follow more education based news and politics, so its a nice platform to slowly get into the habit of following the news and politics.  The 140 character limit makes posts short,sweet, and to the point.  If it intrigues me, I easily click and find out more.
There are so many organizations and teachers that are posting interesting articles, lesson ideas, thought provoking questions/comments, or just fun tid bits to follow.  It makes professional development fun and easy, whether your trying to find information, share your own experiences, or get feedback.

Entry filed under: Module 3.

M3 Learning Log 1 – iGoogle M3 Learning Log 3 – Goodreads

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. slm508jnb  |  July 9, 2011 at 5:53 am

    Sarah,
    I like the way you say Twitter is a nice platform to help get you into the news. I am very spotty when it comes to watching the news, but, you’re right. If I find the right people to follow, I can stay constantly updated on the kind of news that is important to me via Twitter. And, yes, gotta love the 140 character limit 😉

    Reply
  • 2. TDixon  |  July 11, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    Twitter was also my new favorite social networking tool. It was easy to use and was not time consuming. I feel that it not being time consuming was one of the best features. You could easily get on Twitter, get updated on educational information and pass the information to others. I also thought Twitter was really versatile because I would be able to use it for a variety of purposes in the classroom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Sarah’s Shelfari

Sarah’s Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Flickr Photos

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

Creative Commons License

Creative Commons License
Sarah Wilhelm's SLM508 Blog by Sarah Wilhelm is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 3.0 Unported License.

